Some Nights–Drum Corps Edition

Some nights I stay up
Trying not to think of vis block
Sometimes I just fall dead asleep
Sometimes I wish that
My lips would hit a high C
Sometimes I wish I could just give up

But I still wake up
And I survive PT
Oh lord I still don’t know
Why I do this
Oh…….

What the hell is drum corps
What the hell is drum corps
Most nights I don’t know anymore….

Oh, whoa, oh, whoa, oh, whoa, oh, oh,
Oh, whoa, oh, whoa, oh, whoa, oh, oh

This is it, this is drum corps!—floor time is what we’re waiting for
We won’t pull into housing til 5 am
I still buy into all this hype
Now that I’m tan and tasty and no longer white
I try twice as hard and I’m half as right
Here comes my vis tech to jack my style

That’s alright
I found my sweatpants on the bus tonight
Stops me from being so damn freezing, freezing
Hey, where am I? (Texas?  Georgia?)

Well some nights I wish this would never end
Cause when I get back home I’ll have no friends
And some nights I’m scared I’m just not good enough
And some nights I always win, I always win

But I still wake up
And I survive PT
Oh lord I still don’t know
Why I do this
Oh…….

What the hell is drum corps
What the hell is drum corps
Most nights I don’t know (oh come on)

So this is it.  I sold my soul for this?
Screwed up my bad knee and back for this?
I miss my mom and dad for this?

No when I stand looking up at the top of the dome, top of the dome
And I hear them scream, hear my own hearth thudding, sounds like my soul
This is how I know, oh come on, oh come on!

Well this is it guys, this is all—two hours into rehearsal and I want to kill myself again
12 hours of this a day, I’m not sure if anybody understands
This one is not for those who like to be comfortable
I still don’t understand why I did go
Who the fuck wants to go die all together dried up in the desert sun?

My heart is breaking because I know it’ll be over too soon
When you watch a corps’ final show
You wouldn’t believe the most amazing things that can come from
Some terrible nights

Oh, whoa, oh, whoa, oh, whoa, oh, oh,
Oh, whoa, oh, whoa, oh, whoa, oh, oh

The other night you wouldn’t believe the dream I just had about Allentown
The audience stood up and cheered like we’d saved their lives
It’s for the best I always remember
Why I march drum corps…oh
It’s for the best I always remember
Why I march drum corps….oh

Leave a Reply

